Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2014

Site Administrator

Editorial Team

01 Aug, 2014

17611 Times Read.

Awards, International,

RSS Feeds RSS Feed for this Article


The prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Awards for year 2014 were announced on 31 July 2014 and it included six winners. Education is a big theme in this year’s awards, with two individuals who have dedicated their lives to educating indigenous communities – a Filipino and an Indonesian – and a Pakistani organization that builds schools for girls, among the 6 awardees. Following is the list of these six winners.

1) Saur Marlina Manurung (Indonesia)

She was cited for “her ennobling passion to protect and improve the lives of Indonesia’s forest people” through jungle schools put up by her organization. An anthropologist by profession, she put up a “Jungle School” program for children of Indonesia’s Orang Rimba, or forest people.

2) Randy Halasan (The Philippines)

He was chosen for the award for serving the indigenous Matigsalug tribe. He put in huge efforts in teaching the children of the Matigsalug tribe in one of the remotest mountain villages in Mindanao.

3) Hu Shuli (China)

He is a Chinese investigative journalist whose work has led to the ouster of corrupt officials. He is the founder and former editor of ‘Caijing’ a business magazine famed for its groundbreaking investigative reporting that has had a profound impact on China.

4) Omara Khan Masoudi (Afghanistan)

Masoudi was awarded for his courage in protecting Afghan cultural heritage. At great risk to his life, the deputy director of the National Museum of Afghanistan in Kabul led his colleagues in moving some of the museum’s most precious objects to safety during the Taliban’s assault on his country’s cultural treasures in the 1990s.

5) The Citizen Foundation (Pakistan)

The Citizen Foundation, a non-profit organisation (NGO) in Pakistan founded by six business leaders, was recognized for building 1,000 schools over hundreds of cities and towns in the country with the world’s second highest number of children who are out of school.

6) Wang Canfa (China)

Wang Canfa founded the Center for Legal Assistance to Pollution Victims, which has offered free legal services to thousands of people and provided environmental law training to lawyers and others.


About Ramon Magsaysay Awards

Ramon Magsaysay Awards were established in 1957 and are named after popular Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay who died in a 1957 plane crash. These awards are often known as the ‘Nobel Prize of Asia’. An important feature of these annual prizes is that they are awarded only to personalities from Asia. Magsaysay Awards were first awarded in 1958.

The Swedish newspaper was recently asked it to delete the reference made by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Bofors scam in an interview to it, as a claim protested by the Indian Government on 27 May 2015. India has expressed disappointment over the disrespect shown to the President, the newspaper has defended its right to publish what was said during the interview.

Know, who is Vijay Kelkar and what is PPP !

Vijay Kelkar is a renowned economist and a former Finance Secretary. He was appointed head of newly constituted committee to give recommendations to recast the model of Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) model in India. India is one of the largest PPP market with over 900 projects. The Kelkar committee will review the PPP policy, suggest a better risk-sharing mechanism between private developers and the government after analysing such projects.

Know, who is Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar !

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar was crowned as the new Maharaja of of Mysuru (Mysore) royal family. He is the 23-year old grandson of Princess Gayathri Devi, who was the eldest daughter of the last Maharaja of Mysore, Sri Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar. The coronation was held at Mysuru’s famous Amba Vilas Palace, which was decked up for the occasion.

Know about Sepp Blatter!

Swpp Blatter, was re-elected as FIFA president for a fifth term at the 65th Annual Congress of FIFA held at Zurich for four year term.

Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan stood against Blatter in this election. It is worth mentioning that FIFA is going through a major controversy regarding corruption in the organisation with two FIFA vice presidents and a recently elected FIFA executive committee member still in custody.


Responses on This Article

Previous Responses on This Article

  1. Kuruvilamjacob says:

    The field / ideal of why this award is given mainly service to the people,pragmatic idealism etc should be mentioned . Other than that its really good.

  2. neeraj1989 says:

    great effort but there should also a Common GK link that is comming in bank exams i am very thankful

  3. rpremputra126 says:


  4. Sidney says:

    Just awesome

  5. Santu Golui says:


  6. sumit sharma82 says:

    Sir please mention information of what will give as a award like citation or amount of money.

© Nirdeshak. All rights reserved.