Joint Parliamentary Committee on Land Bill

Site Administrator

Editorial Team

19 May, 2015

6119 Times Read.

Appointments, Committees / Commissions, National,

RSS Feeds RSS Feed for this Article


The Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to look into the clauses and provisions of the controversial land acquisition bill was constituted on 18 May 2015. The JPC comprises of 30 members of Indian Parliament, which will include 20 members from the Lok Sabha and 10 members of the Rajya Sabha. The JPC will submit its report on the first day of the monsoon session. The JPC was constituted by the Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, who also appointed its Chairman.


JPC to be headed by S.S. Ahluwalia

The JPC on Land Bill will be headed by senior BJP leader S.S. Ahluwalia. Ahluwalia is a former Union Minister and a Lok Sabha member from Darjeeling in West Bengal.

Other prominent members in the JPC

The 20 members of the Lok Sabha who are on the joint committee include K.V. Thomas, Rajiv Satav (both Congress), Anand Rao Adsul (Shiv Sena), Kalyan Banerjee (Trinamool Congress), B. Mahtab (BJD), Mohammad Salim (CPI-M), Chirag Paswan (LJP) and Udit Raj, Anurag Thakur and Ganesh Singh (all BJP).

The 10 Rajya Sabha members in the committee include Ram Narain Dudi (BJP), Jairam Ramesh, Panna Lal Punia, Digvijay Singh (all Congress), Ram Gopal Yadav (SP), Sharad Yadav (JD-U), Sharad Pawar (NCP), Derek O’Brien (TMC) and Rajpal Singh Saini (BSP).

Why the JPC on Land Bill constituted?

The Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) on Land Bill was constituted primarily to chalk out differences between the ruling BJP coalition and the opposition on the supposedly controversial clauses in the land acquisition bill being proposed by the govt. It is worth mentioning that apart from the main opposition parties like Congress, Trinammol Congress, CPM, SP, etc., even some members of the ruling NDA coalition like the Shiv Sena and the Swabhimani Paksha are opposing the land acquisition bill. The Congress and the Left parties have been specially targeting the Modi dispensation as anti-farmer and pro-corporate.

All about Land acquisition Bills

Currently land acquisition is governed by the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act, 2013 which came into force on 1 January 2014. Prior to this, the Land Acquisition Act, 1894 governed land acquisition. The so-called controversial land bill is the one which is named the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015 and was introduced in the Lok Sabha by the Minister for Rural Development, Birender Singh on 11 May 2015. The Bill proposes to amend the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act, 2013. The Bill also proposes to replace the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Ordinance, 2015 which is to lapse on 4 June 2015.

The Swedish newspaper was recently asked it to delete the reference made by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Bofors scam in an interview to it, as a claim protested by the Indian Government on 27 May 2015. India has expressed disappointment over the disrespect shown to the President, the newspaper has defended its right to publish what was said during the interview.

Know, who is Vijay Kelkar and what is PPP !

Vijay Kelkar is a renowned economist and a former Finance Secretary. He was appointed head of newly constituted committee to give recommendations to recast the model of Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) model in India. India is one of the largest PPP market with over 900 projects. The Kelkar committee will review the PPP policy, suggest a better risk-sharing mechanism between private developers and the government after analysing such projects.

Know, who is Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar !

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar was crowned as the new Maharaja of of Mysuru (Mysore) royal family. He is the 23-year old grandson of Princess Gayathri Devi, who was the eldest daughter of the last Maharaja of Mysore, Sri Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar. The coronation was held at Mysuru’s famous Amba Vilas Palace, which was decked up for the occasion.

Know about Sepp Blatter!

Swpp Blatter, was re-elected as FIFA president for a fifth term at the 65th Annual Congress of FIFA held at Zurich for four year term.

Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan stood against Blatter in this election. It is worth mentioning that FIFA is going through a major controversy regarding corruption in the organisation with two FIFA vice presidents and a recently elected FIFA executive committee member still in custody.


Responses on This Article

© Nirdeshak. All rights reserved.