87th Academy Awards (Oscars 2015)

Site Administrator

Editorial Team

23 Feb, 2015

7553 Times Read.

Awards, International,

RSS Feeds RSS Feed for this Article


87th Academy Awards, popularly known as the Oscars, were awarded at a glittering ceremony held at the Dolby Theatre at Los Angeles (California) on 22 February 2015. “Birdman” and “The Grand Budapest Hotel” dominated the ceremony by winning 4 awards each while “Whiplash” won 3 awards.  However, “Birdman” was successful in bagging main awards that included Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay and Best Cinematography. Overall 24 awards were given in different categories. The ceremony was hosted for the first time by actor Neil Patrick Harris.

Here is the full list of the winners :


– Best Picture

Birdman — Alejandro G. Inarritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole

– Best Director

Alejandro González Iñárritu — Birdman

– Best Actor

Eddie Redmayne — The Theory of Everything

– Best Actress

Julianne Moore — Still Alice

– Best Supporting Actor

J.K. Simmons — Whiplash

– Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette — Boyhood

– Achievement in Costume Design

Milena Canonero — The Grand Budapest Hotel

– Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling 

Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier — The Grand Budapest Hotel

– Best Foreign Language Film

Ida  – Pawel Pawlikowski (Poland)

– Best Live Action Short Film

The Phone Call — Matt Kirkby and James Lucas

– Best Documentary Short Subject

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 — Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry

– Original Screenplay 

Birdman – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo

– Achievement in Sound Mixing

Whiplash — Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, Thomas Curley

– Achievement in Sound Editing

American Sniper —  Alan Robert Murray Bub Asman

– Achievement in Visual Effects

Interstellar — Ian Hunter, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley and Paul Franklin

– Best Animated Short

Feast — Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed

– Best Animated Movie

Big Hero Six — Don Hall, Chris Williams and Roy Conli

– Achievement in Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel — Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock

– Achievement in Cinematography

Birdman — Emannuel Lubezki

– Achievement in Film Editing

Whipalsh — Tom Cross

– Best Documentary Feature

Citizen Four — Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky

– Best Original Song

Glory — John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn

– Best Original Score

The Grand Budapest Hotel — Alexandre Desplat

– Best Adapted Screenplay

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore


The Swedish newspaper was recently asked it to delete the reference made by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Bofors scam in an interview to it, as a claim protested by the Indian Government on 27 May 2015. India has expressed disappointment over the disrespect shown to the President, the newspaper has defended its right to publish what was said during the interview.

Know, who is Vijay Kelkar and what is PPP !

Vijay Kelkar is a renowned economist and a former Finance Secretary. He was appointed head of newly constituted committee to give recommendations to recast the model of Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) model in India. India is one of the largest PPP market with over 900 projects. The Kelkar committee will review the PPP policy, suggest a better risk-sharing mechanism between private developers and the government after analysing such projects.

Know, who is Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar !

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar was crowned as the new Maharaja of of Mysuru (Mysore) royal family. He is the 23-year old grandson of Princess Gayathri Devi, who was the eldest daughter of the last Maharaja of Mysore, Sri Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar. The coronation was held at Mysuru’s famous Amba Vilas Palace, which was decked up for the occasion.

Know about Sepp Blatter!

Swpp Blatter, was re-elected as FIFA president for a fifth term at the 65th Annual Congress of FIFA held at Zurich for four year term.

Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan stood against Blatter in this election. It is worth mentioning that FIFA is going through a major controversy regarding corruption in the organisation with two FIFA vice presidents and a recently elected FIFA executive committee member still in custody.


Responses on This Article

© Nirdeshak. All rights reserved.