13th Hockey World Cup : Australia win men’s title, Netherlands women’s title

Site Administrator

Editorial Team

16 Jun, 2014

1923 Times Read.

International, Sports,

RSS Feeds RSS Feed for this Article


Men’s Title

Defending champions Australia won their third men’s hockey World Cup title, defeating the Netherlands by 6-1 in the final on 15 June 2014. The Netherlands, the hosts of this edition of World Cup were humbled by Olympic Champions Australia despite taking the lead through Jereon Hertzberger. Chris Ciriello scored two goals for Australia. This was Australia’s third title after victories in 1986 and 2010.

Argentina won the third place and the bronze medal after defeating England 2-0. Belgium defeated Germany 4-2 to take 5th place while New Zealand defeated Spain 4-1 in a penalty shoot-out to take 7th place. India won ninth place after defeating South Korea by 3-0. 11th spot was taken by South Africa who defeated Malaysia convincingly by 6-2 and thus relegating it to the last place.

Women’s title

Olympic gold medallists and hosts The Netherlands defeated Australia 2-0 in the title showdown to clinch the women’s hockey World Cup at the Kyocera Stadium in The Hague on 14 June 2014. This was the fourth time these two nations met in the women’s World Cup title encounter, and The Netherlands have won three of them. Out of 13 women’s World Cups since its inception in 1974, the Dutch have won it seven times.

Defending champions Argentina won the bronze medal after scoring a 2-1 win over the USA. This was Argentina’s fourth successive medal in the World Cup. They were champions in 2002 and 2010, and bagged a bronze in 2006.

The Swedish newspaper was recently asked it to delete the reference made by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Bofors scam in an interview to it, as a claim protested by the Indian Government on 27 May 2015. India has expressed disappointment over the disrespect shown to the President, the newspaper has defended its right to publish what was said during the interview.

Know, who is Vijay Kelkar and what is PPP !

Vijay Kelkar is a renowned economist and a former Finance Secretary. He was appointed head of newly constituted committee to give recommendations to recast the model of Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) model in India. India is one of the largest PPP market with over 900 projects. The Kelkar committee will review the PPP policy, suggest a better risk-sharing mechanism between private developers and the government after analysing such projects.

Know, who is Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar !

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar was crowned as the new Maharaja of of Mysuru (Mysore) royal family. He is the 23-year old grandson of Princess Gayathri Devi, who was the eldest daughter of the last Maharaja of Mysore, Sri Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar. The coronation was held at Mysuru’s famous Amba Vilas Palace, which was decked up for the occasion.

Know about Sepp Blatter!

Swpp Blatter, was re-elected as FIFA president for a fifth term at the 65th Annual Congress of FIFA held at Zurich for four year term.

Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan stood against Blatter in this election. It is worth mentioning that FIFA is going through a major controversy regarding corruption in the organisation with two FIFA vice presidents and a recently elected FIFA executive committee member still in custody.


Responses on This Article

© Nirdeshak. All rights reserved.